Free visa-free travel to Europe ends, now tourists will pay

Free visa-free travel to Europe ends, now tourists will pay

Tourists arriving without visas to Europe from sixty non-EU countries will now pay tolls to the Schengen area . The European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) made a statement regarding the fees introduced for visa-free travelers. Russian travelers will not be affected by this innovation. visa relations have been established between the Russian Federation and the European Union.

Previously, tourists from a number of countries could enter Europe for up to 90 days without any travel permit. However, from May 2023 they will be required to apply for an ETIAS permit before visiting the Schengen area and make a one-time payment. The experts noted that we are talking about the introduction of a regular fee, and not about a visa. In less than a year, each traveler will have to pay 7 euros (about 400 rubles) for the right to travel to Europe. You can pay the border fee using a bank card.

“ETIAS will be a simple, fast and user-friendly system for visitors and, in more than 95% of cases, will lead to a positive response within a few minutes,” the European Commission website said.

The ETIAS will be valid for three years and will be valid for an unlimited number of entries. Travelers between the ages of 18 and 70 are required to pay the fee, which applies to trips for three years. Tourists under the age of 18 and over 70 are exempt from the payment.

The ETIAS decision was supported by the following countries: Austria, Belgium, Hungary, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, as well as non-EU countries are Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland.

Reference: The Schengen area is a zone of 26 European countries that do not have internal borders and allow people to move freely between them, including countries such as Spain, France, Greece, Germany, Italy and Poland.

Earlier, Turprom wrote that “Finland is starting to allow Russians through three checkpoints.”

For those who care about a healthy lifestyle, we recommend reading: “A fashion expert named 9 mistakes women make to look older '.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *